Super Doubles

Standard

Coupons have always been a part of my life. I can remember being a little girl and going to the grocery store with my mom. I watched her match up coupons with sales to maximize savings. She a huge accordion file stuffed with carefully cut out and categorized coupons. Sometimes I even got to hold the ones we were using. When I first started grocery shopping on my own, I didn’t use many coupons. My mom would send me some now and again, but I didn’t become serious about it until after I stopped working full time. Not only did I have a tighter budget but I also had more time. Using coupons well takes time: cutting and organizing, planning, and shopping sometimes at several stores. I went from doing one big grocery haul on Sunday afternoon to shopping two to three times a week at different stores. Don’t get me wrong, I won’t drive across town to save fifty cents. I’m fortunate enough to live in an area that has four (soon to be five) grocery options within two miles of my home.

One of these options is Harris Teeter. They usually run one major coupon event per month. Super Doubles is when coupons double in value up to $1.98. This means a coupon for $1 off will be $2 off. Pair this with sales and you can find some great deals!

So for this month I sorted through all my coupons (most of them sent to me by my wonderful Mom!) to find any that might be a good deal. Then I used the store’s online shopping system to see what the prices of each item were. Sometimes I don’t go to the trouble of all the preplanning, but it really helps now that I grocery shop with kids who could at any time stage a mutiny from the cart. It also keeps me from overbuying.

Here are my coupons I had planned to use:

BEFORE: Coupons

While at the store I decided to use only one of the 7th Generation coupons and I found a product that I didn’t think they would carry. A couple of the items were still a little more than I’d like to pay, but I went ahead because I needed them. Here is what I came home with:

AFTER: Groceries

My total before coupons: $55.24

My total after coupons: $30.89 (including tax, of course)

 

Now I have good food for less money.

Leave a Reply

