Monday is bedroom day.

Standard

This week I’m sharing my household cleaning routine. Monday is bedroom day. I usually wash the sheets, dust, and do laundry. Lately there has been a lot of re-arranging of clothes due to the change in seasons and growth in Boo-Boo. One thing to know is that Boo-Boo sleeps with Hubby and me, so when I say “bedroom” I do mean everyone’s bedroom.

We made the decision to keep him in our room when I was pregnant. But at some point in my last trimester, my hormone-addled brain decided we should make the second bedroom the family bedroom instead of the master. So it wasn’t until a few months after he was born that I finally got all the clothes and furniture moved into our current room. I can’t remember exactly how long this project took, perhaps a few weeks. (I don’t want to pretend like I did this all in one day or anything–did I mention that I have a baby?)

This snap is of the one side of the room that underwent the most drastic change. We had just gotten rid of the television in this “before” snap and I was in the middle of cleaning out some boxes of old classroom stuff I had stored in there. That hideous brown blob is a make-shift light blocking curtain (a sheet) that Hubby pinned up there one sunny morning. It was odious yet effective.

Once the chest of drawers was moved in from the other bedroom, I organized our clothes and my jewelry and bags inside. I got some proper light-blocking curtains on clearance at Walmart. They are the color of dirty snow–I guess that’s why they were $5–but I hung them on the inside of our blue curtains so they don’t really show. I went through the storage items: two large boxes and a hanging file crate. And divided them into the classic “keep,” “trash,” and “give away” piles. The give aways went to a teacher friend and my keeps are in a small box. That box is elevating the paper lamp in the corner. I felt like it needed to be taller than the chest of drawers for better scale.

Since this photo was taken, I have had to remove the nightstand. I didn’t imagine Boo-Boo would be able to pull it down on top of himself! This had caused a problem with unruly cords, but that’s a project to be tackled later.

Another easy/cheap idea in this room is the canvasses above the bed. They are just plain canvasses with fabric staple gunned on. The one in the middle (there are 3, one is not pictured) is one of the king-sized shams that came with the bedding set. I can’t deal with pillows you aren’t supposed to sleep on, so I cut it up.

The closet space is an ongoing issue and I’ll be honest–all my drawers aren’t organized. These are topics for another before & after! But at least now we finally have all our clothes together.

Leave a Reply

