Butternut Squash

Standard

BEFORE: An intimidating squash

I’ve always eyed those falltime squashes in the produce section. They look so hearty, but so hard to cook. My mom saw a recipe for butternut squash soup on a cooking show and e-mailed me directions. I made a few changes, here’s what I did:

  1. Using the most serious knife I have, I cut off the ends and split it down the middle.
  2. Scooped out the seedy, pitty part.
  3. Lined a baking sheet with nonstick foil and put the two halves down–skins up.
  4. Roasted almost 2 hours (a little bit too long) at 350.
  5. Melted butter and fried up half an onion in a pot, adding the roasted squash (minus its skin) and vegetable stock.
  6. Let it simmer in the pressure cooker for about 10-15 minutes.
  7. Added melted sour cream and some Indian chaat masala spice.
  8. Whipped it with the hand mixer before serving.

    AFTER: Dinner

Leave a Reply

