Waterproof

Standard

BEFORE

A few months ago, I discovered our waterproof mattress pad was ripped. I couldn’t throw it away so it sat in my spare room, waiting for a second life. Some time ago, I made a small table cloth for the little girl I babysit using some leftover hot pink brocade silk. I’d always intended to make a spill-proof side. Here was my chance.

Using a coordinating piece of fabric that was previously a cover for a long-gone bridesmaid dress, I sewed on a background to the translucent waterproof plastic. I traced some images from a baby book for decoration. Then I hemmed the edges and sewed it onto the already-hemmed tablecloth.

AFTER

Now she has her own space at the table.

Leave a Reply

