Clearance curtain upgrade

Standard

A few weeks ago, I scored these plain white curtains off the Target clearance racks.

Image

BEFORE: Clearance white curtains

Of course I wasn’t going to just leave them alone.

I was inspired by the curtains in this Better Homes and Gardens room, but I knew they must be some kind of fancy designer that I could never afford. So I decided to try my own version with pretty fabric and fusible web. If you remember, I first used fusible web in my star mobile project. I was emboldened to use it by Make it & Love it and I want to thank her for opening up a whole new world to me. Really. I’m not being overly dramatic.

This is the type I chose to use.

It’s not as stiff as what I used for the stars because I wanted the fabric to still feel flow-y. It sells at for $3.99 at JoAnn’s and I used one package on each curtain. I was pressed for time, but I’m looking for a better deal on this stuff. I’d appreciate any tips. Of course, JoAnn’s has coupons so with a 50% off coupon it would be $1.99 a pack.

Here’s what I did:

1. Using about ¼ a yard each of 5 different cotton fabrics, I attached the fusible web sheets. (Following the directions, you just iron the fabric and stick down the sheet. Easier than pie. Way easier.)

2. I drew leaf shapes of varying sizes on the back side and cut them out.

3. Arranged them into a mosaic-inspired flower design onto the white curtain.

4. Once everything was in place, I peeled off the other side of the fusible web backing and ironed it on. (I used my handy new ironing pad of course!)

Now I have a one-of-a-kind set of curtains.

AFTER: Mosaic flower curtains

6 responses »

  1. Those are so cool! I love the mish-mosh of fun fabrics. And even without a Jo-Ann’s coupon you definitely can’t beat that price and the satisfaction of having made something beautiful with your own two hands!

    • Lol it took me like 3 trips and untold hours to pick out those fabrics. I had them piled sky-high on my cart when I went up to the cutting table. :) Thanks for stopping by!

  2. You are so dang crafty, I can’t take it! lol mA I bought those curtains too mad cheap but I didn’t put anything on em like you did. Giving me ideas girl. If only I could find some time. I can’t wait to see what you do next! :)

Leave a Reply

