Spruce up a shelf

Standard

When I started my craft/play room project, I was torn between hiding and displaying my supplies. I’ve seen some beautiful rooms that have perfectly stacked and color coordinated supplies–everything from fabric to beads to paper. It’s very appealing and it seems like it would be helpful to see everything all at once.

But when I started thinking about it, two things stopped me. Firstly, I’d have to purchase a large amount of some type of shelving. There isn’t room in my budget for this and there isn’t room on the floor for it all either. I want to keep as much open space in the room as possible because the kids should have a big area for play. Secondly, when faced with the reality of making ALL my supplies look beautiful, I realized I’d end up spending more time folding fabric and arranging tubes of glue than actually making anything.

Some supplies just aren’t meant to been seen and I knew it would irk me if I had to look at them.

I ended up housing most of the supplies in the closet and choosing a few for display. I decided these wall curios would do the job.

BEFORE: Ordinary wall curio

I staple gunned a piece of fabric to the back to add some color. Now I have a one-of-a-kind shelf to display only the prettiest of my craft supplies. Tomorrow I’ll show you more about the stuff that got hidden.

AFTER: Fabric-backed curio

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Craft/Play Room Reveal « glimmersnaps

Leave a Reply

